Heart Chakra

Pardon me for getting this one out a little late today. My youngest cat just came home from getting spayed and I’ve been spending special time with her today. It ties in well with this chakra, because she needed my love, nurturing and affection after such a stressful overnight stay.
Today, we’re finally caught up with my first Awakening in a Box: Heart Chakra. I received an excellent set of stones in August and my next box should be arriving very soon. If you haven’t read this weeks previous chakra posts, check out Root, Sacral and Solar Plexus too! Join me again tomorrow for the Third Eye.

heart (1)

Heart Chakra

Anahata, the Heart Chakra, is exactly what you’d expect. This is the center for love. With three chakras grounding us and three chakras extending beyond, the Heart Chakra is the bridge between. Imbalance in this chakra can manifest in coldness and apathy, barriers repressing emotional attachment, or an inability to let go of past mistakes. It can also be over-sacrificing or codependent.


Without question, the Heart Chakra mantra is “I love.” This is not a love for things and it’s not about being physically attracted to anyone. This love is about care, compassion, devotion, generosity and mercy, for others as well as yourself. Affirmations for this chakra focus on opening all channels of love between the self and others.
Examples: “I listen to my heart and honor its connection to the hearts of others. I allow love to fill me up and guide me in all of my actions. I gracefully move to the rhythm of life.” “I deeply and truly love and approve of myself. I am adequate at all times to do that whick is required of me.”


You may choose to answer these questions with a close friend, sibling or significant other. Share your answers and consider any feedback from the perspective of someone who cares about you as much as you should care about yourself.
Do you give AND accept love easily?
How easily do you accept kindness (generosity, help, compliments)? Why?
Are you able to give without expectations?
What is generosity?
What is compassion?
Describe a situation in which you have loved equally, but in different ways.
How easily do you forgive others, and do you offer yourself the same forgiveness?


Cardio exercises
Hike where you can watch the sunrise
Tend your garden
Have a candlelight dinner
Prepare a meal for your family or friends
Hold hands
Spend quality time with a pet


A huge component in heart health is weight. The previous three chakras focused on heavy foods (meat and dairy, bulky vegetables and lots of carbs). The foods used to nourish your heart chakra are lighter fruits and vegetables that pack loads of vitamins and minerals without going to your hips. Load up to your heart’s content on leafy vegetables, brassica (broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, cabbage), zucchini, celery, cucumber, green beans, leeks, green apples, pears, grapes, kiwi, avocados. Enjoy some delicious green tea. Make health food exciting with lots of flavorful green herbs and spices.


via balancedbodyworkmassagetherapy.com


Heart Chakra stones are green and pink in color.
Rose quartz
Green aventurine
Pink/green/watermelon tourmaline
Green/pink calcite
Green fluorite
Moss agate

The collection I put together for Heart Chakra is all about comfort.  Find a snuggle buddy and curl up with a warm cup of tea.  The the jade hearts serve as reminders that you are worthy of love and compassion too.



2 thoughts on “Heart Chakra

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s